Aladdin - Movie Review

56 340
1 202
 
Comments
Tyler Durden
Tyler Durden - 32 minutes ago
Why compare it to the original? Did you try watching the movie as if it's your first time seeing it? I did. And it was good. So good. CGI Genie was good too. John August and Guy Richie made an adaptation that wasn't trying to go one to one with the original and they did it well.
Glen Reidy
Glen Reidy - 2 hours ago
I enjoyed it but I wasn’t as immersed as I would of liked due to the American accents.
Christophe Ferreira
Christophe Ferreira - 7 hours ago
One of the lines of the genie, haven't they used Robin Williams' voice?
I could swear it was his voice, for one line only ...
Camila B
Camila B - 8 hours ago
I enjoyed this movie, but I missed my favourite line from the animated one, that's actually a Jafar line.. "Prince Abubu"
Camila B
Camila B - 8 hours ago
*JAMS*
Stephanie Lastname
Stephanie Lastname - 8 hours ago
This movie was a borefest. no one in the cinema laughed at all not even once, Even though the cast were trying so hard to be funny it just didn't work. Save yourself money and watch the original
howtoeataham
howtoeataham - 16 hours ago
I feel like I’m in the minority when I say this movie sucked. It was funny in some parts, but other than that the acting was pretty sub par, CGI was pretty bad for Disney, and lots of character moments didn’t make sense
ILLUSION CESAR
ILLUSION CESAR - 16 hours ago
Isn't that for girls
Arelis Villanueva
Arelis Villanueva - 19 hours ago
I don't like u
Arelis Villanueva
Arelis Villanueva - 19 hours ago
I'm disappointed they left out jafar's song out but I still loved it
Emily Goldman
Emily Goldman - 19 hours ago
Yessss! You hit my main two gripes of the movie so well. First off iago was trash in the new version, so why bother. Secondly I was NOT a fan of the weird editing during the songs with the speed.
Arelis Villanueva
Arelis Villanueva - 19 hours ago
Will Smith was awesome
Arelis Villanueva
Arelis Villanueva - 19 hours ago
I loved the movie.prince Ali was awesome stop hating
Farquaad Castle
Farquaad Castle - 9 hours ago
How much is Disney paying you? I could do with Duke side cash
yellow mermaid
yellow mermaid - Day ago
I loved the actors more than the film itself..
supremercommonder
supremercommonder - Day ago
They got Jasmin wrong white washed
Apple y
Apple y - 2 days ago
Here comes all of the "ThE OriGiNAL wAS bEttER" comments. Honestly, I'm so tired of this trope. Cant people just think for themselves? A movie is not automatically better because it came first and was animated, and a live action ADAPTATION is not bad because of the inverse. Imo, this live action was actually better than the original. But I know everyone will attack that opinion, because the desire to have the majority opinion is stronger than fairly assessing a films quality for what it does and giving it the credit it deserves. Oh well...
Zachariah Miteruai
Zachariah Miteruai - 2 days ago
People need to get there head out of there ass about cgi like bro how else would we get half the movies we get
Apple y
Apple y - 2 days ago
Ahh yes of course, live action remakes...no matter how good/enjoyable they are they will be underrated simply because there was a medicore cartoon made before it. Rip.
Apple y
Apple y - 2 days ago
@Celsea C I'm sorry. For clarification I did not intend to say that the 2D animation/anime/"cartoon" medium was mediocre, it is absolutely not. I love animation as well, and I actually believe that animation is capable of creating better stories, worlds and characters than 99% of live action films/TV shows. I was just speaking specifically about "Aladdin", the original 2D Disney movie. I will admit though that I haven't seen that film in a couple of years so it may not even be fair for me to judge it, so I apologize for that. From what i remember though I enjoyed it but i was just not as impressed or captivated by it as much as some of Disney's other works. It wasn't that original story or character wise and so I believe that the live actions changes made up for that for me. Honestly the point of my comment was just that many times people will blindly bash these live action ADAPTATIONS of these older, reneissance Disney era films simply because they are "different from the original" even when if the live action version came first they wouldn't love the animated one as much as the live. You can't let nostalgia or a bandwagon of opinions impact your judgement of a good film which is genuinely good in what it does. People should be thankful that Disney is even reviving their favorite cartoons, instead of complaining, and that was just my main point, I guess.
Celsea C
Celsea C - 2 days ago
mediocre cartoon?? have you no idea how many months that took back in the day? what a huge team to work on it? I understand your point but can you not being so condescending? Animation is something that people study and should be appreciated. The original had character and atmosphere which stemmed from animation. The faces were very expressive and all the feelings of the characters got out perfectly. Unlike some of the performances in the movie
Apple y
Apple y - 2 days ago
Honestly when Disney releases a GOOD live action ADAPTATION (that everyone knows they were gonna go to in theatres since the trailer) and then everybody whines about the whole "ThE oriGiNAL iS aLwAYs bETTER" its so goddamn ANNOYING. people want to hop on that bandwagon so bad that they cant use actual unbiased judgement to enjoy something or recognize its quality. This Aladdin was fantastic, and so were The Jungle Book and Beauty and the Beast. Dont let stupid superstitions cloud your judgement/enjoyment of good movies. Ffs.
Kelly Kelbe
Kelly Kelbe - 2 days ago
Why didn’t they keep the same storyline ?
Limor Shakar
Limor Shakar - 3 days ago
The Animation one is the best with the late and great Robin Williams 🧞‍♂️ RIP. Also, too much Aladdin for me Broadway show 🎭, cruise show🚢 and of course the original flick.
Kyle Campbell
Kyle Campbell - 3 days ago
I don't like Disney movies, especially musicals, and I don't remember seeing the original movie when I was a kid

I was in because is a Guy Ritchie movie
Kyle Campbell
Kyle Campbell - 40 minutes ago
This homophobic comment makes you so gay
Shinigami Eye
Shinigami Eye - Day ago
So you love Gay's movies.
Richard Andrews
Richard Andrews - 4 days ago
What the hell man? The movie was actually really good. The only part I would agree on was the fast forward part, but I think I noticed just because you said it. It held it's own apart from the animation. I even cried a bit at the end, and I DIDN'T expect that. Also, I watched in in 4D, so maybe enhanced the movie. Anyway, I can't imagine how many people didn't watch this listing to you. Oh, well, the the movie still did great regardless or all the "negative" people .
Kimberley Charlie Mifsud
YES!!! It felt like a stage musical but filmed! except they were fast forwarded... as you said
Justin Rivera
Justin Rivera - 4 days ago
Nahhh I usually agree with you but this movie was great and I was surprised by it. Give it a 7/10 and I'd watch it again.
Rough
Rough - 4 days ago
7 out of 10 more like 3 out of 10
Elisabeth Bonnema
Elisabeth Bonnema - 5 days ago
About Disney sequels, they made those straight to dvd's so that new animators could be trained and train for the proper disneymovies and the budget for those was lower. That's why they mostly lack in quality and stuff, not because nobody cared. They were still well made imo tho ^^
Herbo Racks
Herbo Racks - 5 days ago
It seems like everyone enjoyed this movie except for the hardcore reviewers that keep comparing a live action to something that's animated. Instead of just taking it as a live action film. Literally everyone enjoyed this film and if you haven't seen it go watch it
R
R - 5 days ago
Will Smith sucks imo, I don't understand why people find him charismatic. I even read some opinions about people comparing his charisma with Tom Cruise and even goddamn Keanu Reeves, lol Where man, where is this charisma? The guy is froze in the 90's
Alfian Hardianto 8
Alfian Hardianto 8 - 5 days ago
Only one may enter here🤣🤣🤣
Swayslandjobs Swayslandjobs
My god..this fucking guy...YES!
Arthuruz Scofield
Arthuruz Scofield - 5 days ago
I watched it with my wife and kids and we loved it! This movie is better than Beauty and the Beast. And the song A Whole New World is better than the cartoon version.
izzy A
izzy A - 5 days ago
this clown is wrong. Its a great movie. Best live action yet.
Ranking Factory Review
Ranking Factory Review - 5 days ago
Nice job, I loved the info.
Ahmed Adam Andalus
Ahmed Adam Andalus - 5 days ago
You said you wanted more character development, but then you said the original was hour & half, making it seem you wanted it to be 1.5. That couldn’t happen tho, They could have just did the development but added 20 min extra to the film.
The movie wasn’t sloppy like X-Men was. They had an actual plot, which gave the overall reason & the Genie was a Blue will smith basically the same thing, still Great & entertaining blue & brown.
Now mayb they could have done more character development forsure, overall i loved the movie. No alcohol required
Jordan Reynolds
Jordan Reynolds - 6 days ago
I really liked the Will Smith genie. I went into this movie with super low expectations and was pleasantly surprised. I genuinely enjoyed this movie.
George Rady
George Rady - 6 days ago
Aladdin can’t act and Will Smith can’t sing and Jasmine wants to be Sultan... could care less about “true love”
Ya know, the Soviets went thru this when they made sure all the “arts” delivered a POSITIVE MESSAGE for the People - they called it “Social Realism” - but we can just callnit what it was... propaganda... and this was corporate propaganda done BAAAAD!
CaptainGavtron
CaptainGavtron - 6 days ago
Should have had Patrick Warburton play the Genie and Ben Kingsley play Jafar.
Laura Pereira
Laura Pereira - 6 days ago
What about Jasmine ? Cause she was great
бот для накрутки
FINALLY! After 1 day i have found the only place where you are able to see Aladdin 2019 with awesome quality and awesome sound! Im sharing the link to you, guys ) Just Open _ALADDIN .IHACK . CO_
John Peacekeeper
John Peacekeeper - 6 days ago
Eh. This feels like lazy nitpicks rather than an analysis tbh. Like CinemaSins.
Assoluto Cosmico
Assoluto Cosmico - 4 days ago
Lazy nitpicks for a lazily directed film.
faruzzy
faruzzy - 6 days ago
I love your reviews. But I think you a hit a miss on this one. I enjoyed this movie
Jose Ruiz
Jose Ruiz - 6 days ago
I never seen the original Adladin!!!! Should I steer clear of this one? 🤔😱
Niasoux Rocks
Niasoux Rocks - 6 days ago
Jose Ruiz I think you should definitely watch live action. Everyone is being hard on it but it’s really fun and entertaining. It’s not the best movie in the world but it’s so worth it to see the songs and the actors. Ps. You should watch the original too
Humza Khan
Humza Khan - 6 days ago
This was the most “good time no alcohol required” movie ive seen in quite awhile. But then again, i fell off of being critical of movies like around last yr so yeah
Robert A. Davis
Robert A. Davis - 7 days ago
Yeah the new movie was too long. Like you said they rushed over important scenes and stretched out non-essential scenes (e,g., the Bollywood dance sequence)
HallWoodProductions
HallWoodProductions - 7 days ago
Loved it more then the original
Olly Enriquez
Olly Enriquez - 8 days ago
I agree. A mixed bag. Overall pretty enjoyable but not perfectly executed. Costumes A+
JJ M
JJ M - 8 days ago
Never gonna watch another Disney remakes ever again. This movie was so lame on a whole new level. I hated it so much. I hated Jasmine and I hated all those Genie changes.
Prince Music
Prince Music - 8 days ago
Editing and Cinematography worst.
fat matt
fat matt - 8 days ago
It's a money grab....
Yoo Fan
Yoo Fan - 8 days ago
I honestly enjoyed the movie and that too with zero expectation it would amaze me.... kudos to the main leads
barbaro267
barbaro267 - 8 days ago
I'll be the first to say it, but Aladdin in Once Upon A Time is actually better than this one.
zynbw
zynbw - 8 days ago
I went to it without comparing it to the original disney animation and I had a good time. I took my little cousins to the film and they had a good time and so did I. Some parts were a bit rushed but over all it's good.
Chnekohan
Chnekohan - 8 days ago
Actually, the movie was great
JesMarie Jonz
JesMarie Jonz - 9 days ago
Can’t relate cause I loved the movie, there were parts I missed that the animation did. But as a movie on its own not comparing the two I loved it, especially Will Smith as the Genie.
Prince Khan
Prince Khan - 9 days ago
I loved this movie!!! Def worth a watch
LunaOfTheDarkestNight
LunaOfTheDarkestNight - 9 days ago
I loved will Smith as the genie
veecherrygirl
veecherrygirl - 9 days ago
I'm with you on this one. I didn't really love it.
Robert van Piggelen
Robert van Piggelen - 9 days ago
Listening to you is a struggle.
aslsmm 00
aslsmm 00 - 9 days ago
None of the live actions have lived up to the animated. Having said that, I'm definitely going to Robin hood if it ever gets the green light.
Niasoux Rocks
Niasoux Rocks - 6 days ago
aslsmm 00 jungle book
Idon'tCare Yo
Idon'tCare Yo - 9 days ago
Don't worry I think disney sent employees to review it good because everyone I talked to didn't like it and critics really didn't like it!
McMatthew99
McMatthew99 - 9 days ago
If the live action remake were released in the '90s and the animated version was released in 2019, then we would be saying that the animation was worse hands-down.
I'm not saying the reboot beats the original, I'm just saying that it is fantastic in its own right and nostalgia for the original is what drives people to criticize the reboot.
Joey (Lucky Boy) Nato
Joey (Lucky Boy) Nato - 9 days ago
that electric guitar in the intro is from Propellerhead Reason lol i like your vids btw man
tom thorn
tom thorn - 9 days ago
Will Smith finally committed career suicide in this movie!!!!
Elam White
Elam White - 9 days ago
I'm suddenly imagining Disney CGI-ing Robin William's face on Genie...
Britnatural
Britnatural - 9 days ago
I took my daughter to watch this movie, she loved it... I asked her who was her favourite and she said the genie.
Thisisshaz Yessir
Thisisshaz Yessir - 10 days ago
Watched it twice.. love it enjoyed it.. not as good at the OG tho
Sarah ABC
Sarah ABC - 10 days ago
I went with a group of friends and we didn’t like the movie. I’m not a particular fan of Will Smith, so I didn’t enjoy it much. It was just a big forgettable blah. Then today I took my 6 years old niece and saw the movie through her eyes. They were filled with awe and wonder and she couldn’t stop talking about it (it replaced princess & the frog & frozen as her favorite movie).
Funstuff13613
Funstuff13613 - 10 days ago
Dude, I don’t know how you didn’t give this film either Dog Shit or You’re not going to remember it in T-20 seconds. Disney are to blame for this blunder not Will Smith. He and Naomi Scott could have been great with the right script, cast, direction, vision and quality assurance. An estimated budget of $185 million, complete freedom of choice of a world full of talent and this is what they come up with, LOL GTFOH.
Him With The Hair
Him With The Hair - 10 days ago
Seen it, I'd say it was a good time no alcohol required, but can also see how some people might need the alcohol to enjoy it.
saina subtle
saina subtle - 10 days ago
It was awesome
Hear it from me
I am quite a critic
ULTRALISK BUILDER
ULTRALISK BUILDER - 10 days ago
4:00 I was in a screening where he existed in a single scene and said nothing. Trust me, whatever you are talking about, *it's better.*
Blaze Escamilla
Blaze Escamilla - 10 days ago
I thought Guy Ritchie was a wierd choice and I didnt even realize he was director until the movie started
SL twentyeight
SL twentyeight - 10 days ago
My kid never seen the animated ver. She loved this movie dancing when movie ended. Thankfully it was AMC.
Brooke
Brooke - 11 days ago
I thought it was the best disney remake thus far...but granted I’m not sure the other ones set the bar very high
Smooth Operator
Smooth Operator - 11 days ago
If Will Smith wasn’t in this film it would’ve been a complete bomb
Niasoux Rocks
Niasoux Rocks - 6 days ago
Smooth Operator jasmine was great
Eric Mugerwa
Eric Mugerwa - 11 days ago
CGI expensive, a mouth move costs $250,000 - that why director said leave that ish open
Zed Kaizoku
Zed Kaizoku - 11 days ago
One of my complaints is when Aladdin 2019 wished the genie to be free becoming humain with no power which he supposed to maintain his half semi cosmic power like in the continuation (so in short he was 100% when imprison and when freed he was 50%) if a sequel is planned the return of jafar they need the Genie half semi Cosmic power to fight abysmal & Jafar
Naytron 9000
Naytron 9000 - 11 days ago
Jeremy Jahns > Chris Stuckapenisinhisbuttandlikeditmann
BrandoCritic
BrandoCritic - 11 days ago
Although this movie didn't blow my socks off, I have to give it to Will Smith! The dude crushed it!
Rassan Ferhadi
Rassan Ferhadi - 11 days ago
Daddy daddy daddy daddydaddydaddydaddydaddydaddydaddy JEREMY
Kemuel Perez
Kemuel Perez - 11 days ago
The cave should’ve had movement. They should have done the whole scene instead of it being part of the montage. Jafar was eh not so menacing. Blue genie sounded like he was reading lines. Kinda like his son did in Karate Kid. Normal genie was fine for some reason. The new jasmine song didn’t fit with the old songs. Great job with the friend like me sequence and the Prince Ali one. It was ok. It felt rushed sometimes. Now I did think of having return of Jafar made. That would give them more freedom.
queen j
queen j - 11 days ago
I actually really liked the beginning because it had Jasmine already sneaking out of town rather than complain to wanting to be free. She actually executed it.
Peter Parker
Peter Parker - 11 days ago
A hahaha
TeachMe4Free
TeachMe4Free - 11 days ago
There was never a moment when I didn't feel like I was watching the Fresh Prince of Bel Air. His portrayal of the Genie seemed monotone and generic at best.

The original Genie from the animation was based on Robin Williams style of comedy and acting. Will Smiths style of comedy simply doesn't work for the Genie.
Will Smith can't do voices and he can't sing or rap. The rap made me cringe orange soda.

I lasted about 22 mins before leaving, which is about your average length of a "Fresh Prince of Bel Air" episode. RIP
DKTheDarkKnight
DKTheDarkKnight - 11 days ago
You went in with your mind already made up.
dudebro
dudebro - 11 days ago
This movie was utter dogpoop. I don't understand why people would like it. Such poor quality in every way.
ad11
ad11 - 11 days ago
I usually agree with you, but man this time you said so much bs... Aladdin is a great movie, had a great time :)
سييرا Anya
سييرا Anya - 11 days ago
I loved this movie!
Skull kidd
Skull kidd - 11 days ago
Also Will Smith did better both “CGI” Genie and himself.
Skull kidd
Skull kidd - 11 days ago
I’m glad they didn’t cgi the cave of wonders like they did in the original. It would be terrifying
AveryScarlet
AveryScarlet - 11 days ago
The beginning was a bit too fast paced for my taste, the middle part was my favorite. Then the ending.... it was okay for me. Though I do give Will Smith a thumbs up for trying to divert his version of Genie away from Robin Williams. I do wish they fixed the CGI of his body.... Jafar and Iago? Almost forgot they were actually a threat till the end. Honestly, we don't see the full extent of Jafar as a powerful sorcerer in this movie. And I don't know why, but it feels like Jasmine sang more than Aladdin. I love the song 'Speechless', though I wish she sang it at the beginning when arguing against her father about her betrothal of after he leaves her before she escapes the palace. I don't know, I felt that the song was wasted since all the characters around her didn't listen to her feelings about no one listening to her. It would have had a bigger impact to see the reactions of those around her while she was singing.
Unlimited Power
Unlimited Power - 11 days ago
Good or not, I still see no point in watching this. We know the story, and have a version with beautiful animation. Why watch it again, but now slightly grounded in reality because it's live-action? Just my thoughts. If you liked it, who am I to judge?
Casey Foster
Casey Foster - 11 days ago
Cave of wonders 1:27 lol good impersonation
UkOnAe
UkOnAe - 11 days ago
How? Chris Stuckmann gave better rating to Dark Phoenix than Aladdin. And you did the opposite? Who do I refer to then and not waste money?
Sharky Magnum
Sharky Magnum - 11 days ago
Just saw it and had a good time...but a couple of complaints. The scene fast forwarding was off setting, the audio wasn't balanced and clashes the score with the actors voices more than once. The casting for Jafar was WAY OFF! I chuckled at the guy...not villian material. Certainly doesn't measure up to the voice presence of Johnathan Freeman. Will Smith was GREAT! He almost carries the film on his own and he really makes it work. Musical numbers and visual production were good.👍With current Disney I expected some social political awareness, but was SHOCKED at the level they went to in this film. 😲 They literally de-railed their own story and turned the third act into a political service announcement. Was also shocked to learn this was a Guy Richie film, because it doesn't feel like one! Not his signature style at all.
It was entertaining, a little shaky on a production side, great visuals...good music, overkill on the politics and a let down in the third act...but overall fun! Their raking in the Disney Dollars as I type. 😆
aj pat
aj pat - 11 days ago
Marwan Kenzari was miscast as Jafar. Like, Disney got the right ethnicity but the age is wrong.
utubeproductreviews
utubeproductreviews - 11 days ago
Liked the video, thanks.
Unxpekted
Unxpekted - 11 days ago
Movie was fucking trash
Something Creative
Something Creative - 12 days ago
I'm hoping for aladdin and the king of thieves.
quigone
quigone - 12 days ago
Agree here... Was meh.. and the animation definitely did better. Abu and iago are no longer beloved supporting characters...
aj pat
aj pat - 11 days ago
Alan Tudyk was wasted in his voice role of Iago. Gilbert Gottfried should have been allowed to reprise his role of Iago.
Rapuccina :p
Rapuccina :p - 12 days ago
I actually liked the movie.
Next videos