Doctor Reviews Meatless Burgers | Impossible, Beyond & More!

30 334
895
 
Comments
BaseballEBM European Baseball & Softball Magazine
Great call looking at those all important nutrition facts! Too few people do. Just like they fail to twist the wrist and read the ingredients. If they did comparisons they'd see how often chemicals are substituted for foods that would harm us less (dextrose causes migraines and is used to substitute for sugar as an example). Too many times people read the advertising, "Same recipe since 1892" and believe it. They never bother to turn the bar/jar or can over and see that something like malodextrin or soy lecithin wasn't around back in the day. Eating vegan or bio or anything else they want to label it to sound up-and-coming only works well if you stop trying to make things taste like what they aren't. Food chemistry is an interesting hobby but it is not a healthy lifestyle choice.
Frankie Ulin
Frankie Ulin - 8 hours ago
Mans really out here studying burgers beewhoop head ass 😂
Beth Rose Godin
Beth Rose Godin - 9 hours ago
What about making your own patties? Taste test video on Homemade meat & meatless patties? Pls😊
Marc Arndt
Marc Arndt - 10 hours ago
I tried "ground" Beyond Meat this week. Made 3 burgers. I thought they were pretty good. Not quality beef good, but passable. Given the calories, sodium, and even saturated fat compare to beef, and excluding possible environmental benefits, does Beyond (or Impossible) offer any benefits over beef? In other words, is beef still worse for you than Beyond?
Marc Arndt
Marc Arndt - 9 hours ago
Oh, I read some comments. Cholesterol! Good to know.
Romans Razzles
Romans Razzles - Day ago
Tiddy twitch when grrrr
everytime's the first time
Is everyone just gonna ignore the intro?
Macy Renault
Macy Renault - 2 days ago
“this could be”
sniffs burger
“This could be”
Sniffs burger
“this could be.....this could be BEEF?”😂
Jodi Brown
Jodi Brown - 2 days ago
DID I MISS THE BEEWOOP?!?!?!?!
Jodi Brown
Jodi Brown - 2 days ago
Loved the whip movement on learning you got it right lol
Bethany Netsova
Bethany Netsova - 2 days ago
I love impossible burgers ☹️
graham
graham - 2 days ago
Honestly I prefer black bean burgers to regular hamburgers, wish I knew how to make them
chill_ harder
chill_ harder - 2 days ago
I haven't had burgers in so long 😭. I rarely eat meat, but now I'm craving it. Some other day though.
Rainy Day Reviews
Rainy Day Reviews - 2 days ago
It's like getting vegan ice cream and saying it's healthier.
Lacey Ferrel
Lacey Ferrel - 2 days ago
Burgers are part of my regular diet!! Fight me😂😂
somethang
somethang - 2 days ago
This motherfucjer
Christan who 2:09
TAK
TAK - 2 days ago
Why would it have to taste like meat in order to taste good? That is one thing I don't get about meat eaters. Food can taste good and not taste like meat.
Cecilia Hernandez
Cecilia Hernandez - 2 days ago
I love when you speak Spanish. 😍
M Law
M Law - 3 days ago
Did the nutrition facts at the beginning include the whole burger, or just the patty? Two had sauces, which may explain the unexpectedly worse nutritional values of some of the meat replacements. Just a thought.
Jasmine Nieves
Jasmine Nieves - 3 days ago
Who else has headphones and just hearing doctor mike chewing😂🤦🏾‍♀️
Julie Anne Hurst
Julie Anne Hurst - 3 days ago
I don’t think vegan burgers are ‘health’ foods, regular burgers are also not healthy and both should very much be treated like an indulgence. I do think choosing a vegan burger over a regular burger is so much better for the environment and it prevents animal suffering. Even if the taste might not completely be there, I still think it’s worth it to chose the vegan one over the regular burger. Because why are your taste buds worth more than the environment and therefore more worth than the life of humans in the future? If we keep on going like this, there will be serious consequences and a lot of people will die.
Random Potato
Random Potato - 3 days ago
I wish that I could make a burger that looked as good as even the worst of those
amro monim
amro monim - 3 days ago
Are you trying to flex on us about your new girl come on bruh that's not cool because I am lonely
Sabrina de Vos
Sabrina de Vos - 4 days ago
You should try guessing cake flavors with out thinking healthy
Elise Logan
Elise Logan - 4 days ago
What I got out of this vid: The quinoa burger is a better choice than Impossible or Beyond. Get the 3 star close-to-burger-ish experience, much better macronutrient profile. Guess I'll be seeing if we can find some quinoa patties at the local store.
Queen Moon
Queen Moon - 4 days ago
If we had chest compressions, I think we should also have "mouthiness"
Ruby Tufte
Ruby Tufte - 4 days ago
Doctor Mike Im going to date you
Hayley's Comment
Hayley's Comment - 5 days ago
Why aren't more people talking about the mouthfeel??
Ariana Fan
Ariana Fan - 5 days ago
Can u beat the shit out of me , thanks
tikirowboat
tikirowboat - 5 days ago
I thought the impossible burger used Heme to make it "bleed" and give it that iron taste. Did you sense any of those elements?
Laura Pacheco
Laura Pacheco - 5 days ago
U dont like them yet u ate almost half of each! Hahaha
geekelly000
geekelly000 - 5 days ago
It’s all over your nose!!! #nosefeel
Lorann Ackers
Lorann Ackers - 5 days ago
Been vegan for 2 and a half years and was veggie a year before that I agree some burgers which try to taste like meat are minging 😂 I would rather just have a veggie burgers 💕
Jacie Bryant
Jacie Bryant - 5 days ago
is no one going to talk about the intro.... HAHA
TheoryOfTravel
TheoryOfTravel - 6 days ago
Why don’t you actually try a whole food plant based (WFPB) diet. It’s much healthier than that fake “vegan” processed shit.
Micah Simon
Micah Simon - 6 days ago
I'm vegetarian, so I'm biased, but I did have a quinoa burger at a pub once and it was honestly amazing.
I also have made some quinoa "meat"balls and they are.. so damn good lol. The texture of regular quinoa is definitely an acquired taste, but something about when the quinoa is sizzled in a pan, giving it some crispiness just makes it SO much better and actually good. Definitely recommend.
The thing with non-meat burgers and replacements is that you have to get it out of your mind that it's going to taste like meat. It's not lol. But if you find the right brand of premade stuff or the right recipe to make your own, they can be delicious as a replacement and not a substitute.
edgar2prado
edgar2prado - 6 days ago
No surprises. The people making these burgers have not gone to the final extremes to make them healthy. Just trying to fool people who still want meat. Why not try to hit two important targets and forget about the "fooled ya" factor. Namely delicious and as healthy as can be. I'm sure there is a market for that.
edgar2prado
edgar2prado - 6 days ago
0:55 This is idiotic. Mix potassium chloride with the sodium chloride. 1/2 (K) to 1(Na) is a good bet that will almost certainly not be able to kill anyone. That will lower the impact of the burger in raising blood pressure. And it will be very difficult (if not impossible) to taste any difference. WTF is wrong with the people who make these burgers? The monstrous sodium to potassium imbalance is already there. What is wrong with trying to ameliorate it? Too afraid of killing people with terribly weird metabolisms, or some idiot on a potassium sparing diuretic? You are already killing people with excess sodium. The difference is that people accept it as the status quo.
Neena Sanjay
Neena Sanjay - 6 days ago
I HATE YOU MY MOUTH IS WATERING
rottentwapple
rottentwapple - 6 days ago
1:47 Ha. that's a cute moment.
CVoice Official
CVoice Official - 6 days ago
Dr Mike, you called one of the veggie burgers a "great" burger yet gave it 3 stars and then you specifically say the beef is not a great burger, but you gave it a higher rating. Perhaps you have some sort of bias going on.
CVoice Official
CVoice Official - 6 days ago
Should probably clarify the body's need for protein. Many people may be getting way more than they need and it seems like this is encouraging people to get even more.
Sahra Amiri
Sahra Amiri - 6 days ago
1:48 HAHAAHHAHA
Modan Bari
Modan Bari - 7 days ago
Did not see that coming 😂😂😂
Ucmh
Ucmh - 7 days ago
Dr. Mike just said saturated fat is bad. That's a bit surprising, don't people nowadays say it's just a myth that saturated fats are bad for you? Also, he's calling sodium a macro nutrient. Wth?
Ucmh
Ucmh - 7 days ago
I ate a vegan burger for the first time earlier this year. It was hideous. Truly an insult to burgers everywhere.
Kimberly Meffert
Kimberly Meffert - 7 days ago
95% of pasture land can't be tilled for crop land.
Gary Oak
Gary Oak - 7 days ago
I’ve had the impossible and beyond. I agree. The impossible has the texture but the taste is not very pleasing. Would not buy again. I didn’t think the beyond necessarily had the texture, and it certainly doesn’t taste like beef. But it did taste good and I would buy that one again.
carolina clake
carolina clake - 9 days ago
watching you use a single use plastic bottle is so cringey !
Madison Fingerhut
Madison Fingerhut - 9 days ago
Dr Mike, we don't eat vegan burgers because they're healthy. We eat them because we don't want to eat an animal.
J.R. Swish
J.R. Swish - 8 hours ago
What are you talking about I love my meat fake
Jon M
Jon M - 11 hours ago
Many people are eating under the misguided view that it is "healthier". Idiots
Angel L
Angel L - 2 days ago
@DudeMan 3 I think those are all great points tr o consider. Before I say anything else, you dont have to worry about dissuading someone from x or y diet. Maybe someone could use the wake up call to reevaluate their choices.
DudeMan 3
DudeMan 3 - 3 days ago
No offense to any vegans out there, but I don't see the reason why it is considered unethical to consume animal meat and products. I'm totally fine with anyone that is a vegan, this is just me putting my opinion on the topic. Scientifically speaking, the human body evolved to become omnivorous so that we could get our daily dietary needs from both plant life and animal life. That being said, you could consume only plant life if you wanted to which is fine with me, but it also makes it ethical to consume animal meat and products. It coincides with the circle of life. We are technically predators just like many other species of animals. This means that, depending on the lifestyle you choose, feeding on animals is necessary to survival. Now I'm not trying to dissuade anyone from being vegan, I'm just explaining my point of view. If you disagree with what I'm saying, feel free to give any feedback.
Next videos